# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

#### FIRST REGULAR SESSION

# ONE HUNDRED AND NINTH LEGISLATURE

## **Legislative Document**

No. 901

S. P. 310

In Senate, March 2, 1979

Referred to the Committee on Fisheries and Wildlife. Sent down for concurrence and ordered printed.

Presented by Senator Redmond of Somerset.

MAY M. ROSS, Secretary of the Senate

### STATE OF MAINE

# IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-NINE

AN ACT to Prohibit Taking Antlerless Deer in Certain Municipalities and Townships.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

12 MRSA § 2353-C is enacted to read:

§ 2353-C. Taking of antlered deer only

In the following areas a person may only take by lawful means one wild deer with antlers not less than 3 inches long.

l. Somerset County. The following municipalities and townships in Somerset County: Bigelow, Dead River, Flagstaff, T3R4 BKP WKR, Pierce Pond, Bowtown, The Forks Plantation, East Moxie, King and Bartlett, T3R5 BKP WKR, Lower Enchanted, West Forks Plantation, Moxie Gore, Squaretown, T5R6 BKP WKR, Hobbstown, Upper Enchanted, Johnson Mountain, Chase Stream, Indian Stream, Appleton, T5R7 BKP WKR, T4R7 BKP WKR, Parlin Pond, Misery, Sapling, Holeb, Attean Pond, Jackman, Long Pond, Misery Gore, Sandwich Academy Grant, Taunton and Raynham Grant, Sandbar Tract, Rockwood Strip, Forsyth, Dennistown, Moose River, Thorndike, Sandy Bay, Bald Mountain, Alder Brook, Blake Gore, Prentiss, Hammond, T4R5 NBKP and Dole Brook.

- 2. Franklin County. All of Franklin County except the following municipalities and townships: Wilton, Jay, Farmington, Chesterville, Industry and New Sharon.
- 3. Oxford County. All municipalities and townships in Oxford County north of a line formed by the southern boundaries of the following municipalities and townships: Riley, Newry, Andover and Roxbury.

The provisions of this section shall remain in effect until January 1, 1982.

#### STATEMENT OF FACT

This bill will restrict deer hunting to adult males in wildlife management unit 3. In this area the deer harvest has dropped almost 50% over the last 5 years. Restricting the harvest to males only for the next 3 years will help the population recover.