MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

FIRST REGULAR SESSION

ONE HUNDRED AND NINTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 724

H. P. 576 House of Representatives, February 22, 1979 On Motion of Mr. Carroll of Limerick, referred to the Committee on Transportation. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Hall of Sangerville.

Cosponsors: Mr. Wyman of Pittsfield, Mr. Masterman of Milo.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-NINE

AN ACT to Provide for Marking of the Trans-Maine Highway.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

23 MRSA c. 23 is enacted to read:

CHAPTER 23

HIGHWAY DESIGNATIONS

- § 1951. Trans-Maine Highway
 - 1. Designation. The Trans-Maine Highway is designated as follows:
 - A. Beginning at the Maine-New Brunswick border in Vanceboro, then westerly via Route 6 to Guilford; then northerly via Route 6 to Rockwood; then westerly via Route 6 to Jackman; and then northerly via Route 6 to the Maine-Quebec border at Sandy Bay.
 - B. In addition, a spur line of the Trans-Maine Highway shall be as follows: Beginning at Abbot at Route 6, then westerly via Route 16 to Moscow; then southerly via Route 16 to North Anson; then northwesterly via Route 16 to Stratton; and then northwesterly via Route 27 to the Maine-Quebec border at Coburn Gore.

2. Markers. The Department of Transportation may erect appropriate markers at appropriate intervals designating the Trans-Maine Highway.

STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this legislation is to designate Route 6 from Vanceboro to International Boundary north of Jackman, Route 16 from North Anson to Stratton and Route 27 from Stratton to Coburn Gore as the Trans-Maine Highway and to allow the Department of Transportation to erect appropriate markers.